Equal Rights Commission

The Equal Rights Commission was created through The Equal Rights Ordinance—which mirrors and expands upon state and federal law. The Equal Rights Commission aims to make the City of Green Bay more inclusive and promote diversity inside and outside of City Hall. The Equal Rights Commission shall consist of nine (9) residents of the City of Green Bay, appointed from a diverse and representative cross-section of the community, inclusive of traditionally underrepresented groups, who shall be members only so long as they shall reside in the City. The membership of the Commission shall include one Alder. 

View the Equal Rights Commission January 2023 Housing Report (PDF)


Chairwoman Tara Yang: 

Tara Yang serves as the Chairwoman of the Green Bay Equal Rights Commission (she/her/hers). Yang was born and raised in Green Bay and attended the University of Wisconsin Madison and received her Bachelor of Science in 2013. She is an advocate for the Asian and Black, Indigenous, people of color (BIPOC) community in Northeast Wisconsin. Her local and county civic engagement involves all aspects of basic human rights, social determinants of health, and economic development. She was instrumental in the county wide initiative to declare racism as a public health crisis and serves as a member on the first-ever Brown County Racial Equity Ad Hoc Committee. She also occupies spaces that have under-represented groups such as women of color and young professionals. She serves as Vice Chair for the Green Bay Economic Development Authority Committee, Co-Chair for the Greater Green Bay Chamber of Commerce's (GBCC) DEI Taskforce Small Business Working group, co-founder of NEW APIDA Professionals, and a diversity advisor for the Green Bay Press Gazette. In early 2022, she founded the Asian American Resource Center supported by Mayor Genrich and his Chief of Staff, Amaad Rivera-Wagner.

Yang's family owns a 16-year-old specialty Asian grocery store located in the heart of downtown Green Bay. Tara is a two-time award winner of the Young Professional of the Year Award from the Hmong Wisconsin Chamber of Commerce (HWCC) and GBCC. Her family was recognized by Madison365 as part of Wisconsin's 2021 Top 34 Most Influential Asian Americans, and they previously won the 2020 Business of the Year Award from HWCC.

Vice Chair Jon Shelton

Jon Shelton is associate professor and Chair of Democracy and Justice Studies at the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay. He has been elected to four terms as Vice President of Higher Education for the American Federation of Teachers-Wisconsin. He also serves on the executive board of the Green Bay immigrant and refugee advocacy organization, Community Service Agency Inc. (COMSA), as well as the Board of Directors for the Wisconsin Labor History Society. In 2021, he was appointed by Mayor Eric Genrich to the Equal Rights Commission. 

Shelton is also the author of Teacher Strike! Public Education and the Making of a New American Political Order, which was the winner of the Labor and Working-Class History Association’s Herbert Gutman Prize for Best Dissertation in 2014 and the International Standing Conference of the History of Education’s First Book Award in 2018. His new book, The Education Myth: How Human Capital Trumped Social Democracy, was funded by a postdoctoral fellowship from the National Academy of Education and will be published in 2023 by Cornell University Press. Shelton is a frequent guest on Wisconsin Public Radio to talk about labor issues, and has also published work in the Washington Post, Dissent, Jacobin, Democracy: A Journal of Ideas, and other publications.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


NameTerm StartTerm End
Alderperson Jim HutchisonMay 2022April 2024
Cristina OrtizFebruary 2021February 2023
Stephanie GuzmanOctober 2022February 2023
Michael VinsonFebruary 2021February 2025
Marcus GrignonFebruary 2021February 2023
Tara YangFebruary 2021February 2024
Elizabeth KostichkaJune 2021June 2024
Jon SheltonJune 2021June 2024
Said HassanJune 2021June 2025