Register for Lifeguard Training Here.
This class will certify you as a lifeguard through the American Red Cross. You must be 15 years of age by the first class date. Students should have Level 5 swimming skills. Paricipants must pass a proficiency test
You will be tested for your ability to do specific skills. All skills must be completed in a satisfactory manner to continue in the course.
Requirements are as follows:
Swim 300 yards continuously, using each of the following strokes in the following order:
100 yards breaststroke using rhythmic breathing; and100 yards front crawl using rhythmic breathing, or breaststroke. (The last 100 yards may be a mixture of front crawl and breaststroke)
*There is no time requirement; however, the 300 yards must be continuous – no walking on the bottom or stopping at the side of the pool.
Swim 20 yards front crawl or breaststroke, dive to a depth of 7 to 10 feet, retrieve a 10-lb object, return it to the surface, swim 20 yards back to the starting point and exit the water without using a ladder or steps within 1 minute, 40 seconds.
Tread water for 2 minutes using only the legs.
If you successfully complete the course, you will receive two certificates:
Lifeguard Training (valid two years)
CPR for the Professional Rescuer (valid two years)
The book fee will be included in the registration. You will have the option of downloading and printing at no cost at the link below:
Click “Take a class”
Click “I Want to be a Lifeguard”
Under Take Me To, Click on “Lifeguarding”
Under Materials, click on “Lifeguarding Manual”
Book title is: Lifeguard Training (New Edition)
*Wisconsin state law requires that lifeguards must be 16 years of age. You may take the course at age 15, but cannot be employed as a lifeguard in Wisconsin until your 16th birthday.
Junior Lifeguard Class registration can be found here.